GAMECOCKS UNLIMITED

THE GAMECOCK CONSERVATION BLOG

  • "The natural liberty of man is to be free from any superior power on Earth, and not to be under the will or legislative authority of man, but only to have the law of nature for his rule." Samuel Adams
  • Legalize It

  • ______________________
  • Flex Your Rights

  • ______________________
  • Fully Informed Jury Association

  • ______________________
  • ______________________
  • ______________________
  • ______________________

Who’s Side Are You On, Anyway?

Posted by gamecocksunlimited on June 9, 2013

Posted by Darren U. Talissen on September 3rd, 2007

Someone was reading some of my commentaries on this blog, and as they read a look of surprise came over their face. He turned in his chair, looked at me and asked, “Who’s side are you on, anyway? I have known you most of my life, I know that you love your chickens, and I know that some of your best friends are cockers. I also know that you are being offensive to our cockfighting friends. I have seen you at the pits with a look of admiration on your face. I have seen you heel roosters, condition roosters and pit roosters more than once, but these posts make me wonder what is going on in your thick skull”

My reply to him was, “Currently, the losing side, but if all of the gamefowl enthusiasts would band together, that would change quickly.”

In my previous posts, I have pointed out the faults of some of our comrades in the gamefowl world, this is true. I have given my opinion on several matters of how we should be handling things. I have even thrown out a few offensive words. If any of the things I said offended you personally, I have a question for you. Who’s side are you on, anyway?

If you want to make an omelet, you gotta break some eggs, and that is what I am here to do. The possum walking through the woods doesn’t get your attention, but the one that raids your nests and breaks some eggs does. I want your attention, because in this battle for our right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, we are losing quickly.

We are not losing because we don’t have a leg to stand on. We are not losing because our cause is dishonorable. We are losing because many of us are the worst enemy of our cause. Many of us consistently throw ammunition to our enemies. I am not pointing these things out because I want to discredit you, belittle you, or insult you. I am pointing these things out because I want you to take heed of your actions and words. I want you to think about what you are doing, as all of us are judged by the actions of one of us.

The HSUS, PETA, and the likes, have spread so many lies about us to so many people, that we must start to prove these to be lies immediately. At the same time, we must tell the other half of the half truths that these groups tell. We are not going to gain much ground by posting on our message boards, as the general public does not read these posts. We aren’t going to gain much ground talking to each other on the telephone about it, as the general public does not have your telephone line tapped. We are not going to gain much ground by stalking HSUS officers on the internet, insulting them in comment areas where they have posted, as some of the language I have seen on some of those posts just further cements the myth that we are all uncivilized ruffians.

If we want to dispute these myths we must do it in public forums. If you have a myspace account post the truth about us there. If you have a yahoo account, post it in your profile. Write a letter to the editor of your local paper. Invite your local television station to film the good living conditions of your fowl. Invite your state senator or congressman to visit your farm and discuss gamefowl. Our enemies are gaining most of their momentum through the mainstream media, not through their newsletters that only their supporters read. If we want to counterattack, we must do it in the mainstream, not in venues that only our supporters and enemies read. Of course, if you take any of the above advice, please, I beg you, do not cause more damage than good to our cause. It may be a good idea to rehearse for verbal contact, or ask a friend to read over any written contact you plan to send. Keep in mind that a good journalist will try to get information from you that you are not readily willing to share, so be on your guard.

Through it all, keep in mind that you and I are on the same side. I welcome comments to any of my posts, whether they be negative, or positive. Either way it lets me know that I have at least been heard.

These are my thoughts, and I am Darren U. Talissen

Be as game as your roosters, and keep fighting the good fight

Leave a Reply

 
